Išplėstinė paieška
Pradžia>Politologija>Enlargement of European Union (EU)

Enlargement of European Union (EU)


Darbas anglų kalba. Europos Sąjungos (ES) plėtra. Enlargement process of the European Union (EU) (2004.05), Substantial benefits for the European Union (EU), Benefits for New Member States, The "cost" of enlargement, Reaching progress in political and economical criteria, The Baltic States in the European Union (EU), The trade policy in Baltic States, The integration’s impact to Baltic societies, European Union (EU) enlargement is of highest priority, Implementation of structural funds in the Baltic States, Social consequences.


Enlargement is one of the most important opportunities for the European Union at the beginning of the 21st century. It is a unique, historic task to further integration of the continent by peaceful means, extending a zone of stability and prosperity to new members.
In March 1998 the EU formally launched the process that will make enlargement possible. It embraces the following thirteen applicant countries: Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia and Turkey.
The European Union comprises now 15 member States, with a total population in excess of 375 million inhabitants. These member States have united for the purpose of economic and political cooperation. The EU can already look back on a history of successful enlargements. The Treaties of Paris (1951), establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), and Rome (1957), establishing the European Economic Community (EEC) and EURATOM, were signed by six founding members: Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. The EU then underwent four successive enlargements: 1973 – Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom; 1981 – Greece; 1986 – Portugal and Spain; 1995 – Austria, Finland and Sweden.
However, the enlargement facing the EU today poses a unique challenge, since it is without precedent in terms of scope and diversity: the number of candidates, the area (increase of 34%) and population (increase of 105 million), the wealth of different histories and cultures.
Third countries will significantly benefit from an enlarged Union. A single set of trade rules, a single tariff, and a single set of administrative procedures will apply not only just across the existing Member States but across the Single Market of the enlarged Union. This will simplify dealings for third-country operators within Europe and improve conditions for investment and trade.
Ten mentioned above countries will join the EU on 1 May 2004. As of their day of accession, the new member states will apply the EU’s Common Commercial Policy in its entirety, including the Common External Tariff, EU preferential trade agreements, WTO commitments and EU trade defence measures. They will also adopt internal market rules and benefit from the four freedoms set out in the Treaty.
The financial package for enlargement of the European Union, decided in Copenhagen in December 2002 and included in the accession treaties signed in Athens in April 2003, will take effect on 1 May 2004. The significant impact of enlargement on the Union finances was taken into account in the revision of the Financial Perspective decided by the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union in May 2003. ...

Rašto darbo duomenys
Tinklalapyje paskelbta2005-03-06
DalykasPolitologijos kursinis darbas
TipasKursiniai darbai
Apimtis27 puslapiai 
Literatūros šaltiniai0
KalbaAnglų kalba
Dydis24.91 KB
Viso autoriaus darbų6 darbai
Metai2004 m
Failo pavadinimasMicrosoft Word Enlargement of European Union (EU) [speros.lt].doc

Panašūs darbai




[El. paštas nebus skelbiamas]

Ar šis darbas buvo naudingas?
Pasidalink su draugais
Pranešk apie klaidą